FACEBOOK   |   TWITTER

Jenny Eclair

INHERITANCE

JERSEY OPERA HOUSE / SATURDAY 28 SEPTEMBER / 20.00 / £15

From Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller and acclaimed comedian Jenny Eclair comes her heart-breaking new novel

Telling the story of three generations and one Cornish mansion, Inheritance combines an incredible poignancy and unforgettable characters with Jenny Eclair’s trademark wit and observational humour, serving as the perfect follow-up for fans of Jenny’s Richard & Judy bestseller Moving.

We are all what our families make us. Beginnings, middles and ends; Peggy, Serena, Natasha and Bel. This is the room that binds them, this is how consequences work…

In deepest Cornwall, the mansion Kittiwake has seen many pass through its doors since it was bought by American heiress Peggy Carmichael seventy years ago. Over the decades, the keys have been handed down through the family, and now it belongs to Bel’s adoptive brother, Lance. It’s where he’ll be celebrating his 50th birthday, and Bel is invited.

But in going back to Kittiwake, Bel will be returning to the place where it all began where, following the death of a child, a sequence of events was set in motion years ago, the consequences of which are still rippling down through the generations…

‘Witty, moving, dark and absorbing … it occupied my mind constantly‘ Jo Brand on Moving

‘A tender and bittersweet story, examining love, bereavement and memory … heart-breaking but life-affirming’ Sunday Mirror on Moving

Jenny Eclair is the Sunday Times top ten bestselling author of four critically acclaimed novels: Camberwell Beauty; Having a Lovely Time; Life, Death and Vanilla Slices and Moving. One of the UK’s most popular and successful comedians of her generation, she helped develop and regularly appeared in the show Grumpy Old Women and a variety of successful spin-offs, and was the first woman to win Edinburgh’s prestigious Perrier Award.

Interviewing Jenny will be The Writes of Women blogger, Naomi Frisby.

 

 

Go back
Other Categories:
All Events Fiction